Looking for a 2019 Renewal Package for your Florida Massage License?
Because I do not want to waste your time, here is a link to my Florida Renewal Package, which you can currently get for $30.00.
This package contains the six (6) hours of mandatory courses needed to renew a Florida Massage License (HIV is no longer required-see below), and answers to questions you may have about renewing your massage license.
Below are a few FAQ I receive during the renewal period.
What is the cost to renew a Florida massage license?
A late fee will be enforced after the August 31st deadline. There have been discussions fees will be raised soon, but as of now, it will remain the same for the 2019 renewal.
This does not include an establishment license, which is also $105.00.
How many hours of continuing education do I need to renew my license?
Twenty-four (24) hours if this is not your first renewal. If this is your first renewal, it varies according to the number of hours you have been licensed. It is one hour for every month you have been licensed up until the renewal deadline.
What are the mandatory courses I need?
If this is your first renewal, you must have:
If this is NOT your first renewal, you must have:
* As of July 1st, 2012, there is no longer an HIV/AIDS education requirement each biennial. Years later, people still think they are required to have this course. Worse yet, they tell others it is still required.
Do I have to take hands-on courses?
Yes and no.
If this is your first renewal, you are off the hook again. Hands-on courses are not required for new licensees.
If this is not your first renewal, yes, hands-on courses are required. Twelve (12) of your twenty-four (24) hours must be “hands-on” seminar courses. The three keys when looking for a seminar are:
1. Does it include hands-on or include a demonstration of techniques?
2. Does it pertain to massage therapy?
3. Is it in the physical presence of an instructor?
Do you submit to CE Broker?
Yes, your credits will be entered into CE Broker. As a Florida Approved Provider, I am required to do this.
I only have a week (or day) left can I get this done in time?
Yes!!! I am here to help you complete your required courses quickly. All of our courses and exams are online. A certificate is available after successful completion of each exam. I will receive an email after you complete the exam and I will enter your credits into CE Broker within 24 hours.
Ready to Knock Out These Requirements?
Visit FloridaMassage.com to complete your Florida License Renewal. If this is your first renewal, we have a page for your unique needs here.
Ivy, you are just awesome! Thank you for making all this info so clear for those of us who forget. 🙂 You are awesome, such an asset to the success of Florida MTs!
No problem, Elizabeth!
Hi, I have a question. I’ve been practicing as a Respiratory Therapist for over a year now and not practicing as a LMT. But I want to keep my license active. I’ve been so busy with hospital work that I had forgotten to take my courses for my Massage license and I am out of options for the live course because of my work schedule. I guess my question is, what are my options for the live course if I can’t take it till after August 31st? Will they suspend it? Or can I take something afterwards and just pay the fine for being late?
Due to Hurricane Dorian, the renewal has been extended to September 16, 2019.
I have been a massage therapist since 2007. So this would not be my first renewal. However, in January I received SSI disability for some illnesses that I have. I have not been working. I wanted to simply put my license on inactive status temporarily, I honestly can’t afford to take all of my ceu’s right now because I have not been working. I’m looking at the massage site for the State of Florida and I’m more than a bit confused. It looks like you have to pay a fee to put it on inactive status but then you also have to renew the license as well so that it does not become null and void. However it also says that you can’t renew the license until your CEUs are done. So I’m not sure what to do. I do not want to lose my license because I did work hard for it, and I’m hoping that disability won’t be permanent but at the moment it is. I just want to make sure that my license is taken care of so that if I need to use it again in the future I can do so. Please help. I have no idea what to do or where to go I’m very confused by the information given to us. Thank you.
Have you called the board office? I believe you can put it on inactive status and just pay the fees and then you do not need CE until you plan to go active. They may be busy at the office with renewals right now, but you can send them an email or call. Just remember you cannot go inactive for unlimited cycles/renewals.
This is my first year having to renew. I received my LMT license in July 2017, thanks to your study program helping me pass my MBLEX. With dealing with the aftermath of Hurricane Michael we are rebuilding our home, living in a camper and I’m also 36 weeks pregnant….so you can see how I have let my CEUs get away from me with all this going on. Can you please direct me in the right direction on the best course of action? I appreciate all your help, thank you!
So you are a first-time renewal then. That means you get to take all of your hours online. Which, with all that you have going on right now, seems like the best option.
36 weeks is exciting!
Here is a page I suggest that will tell you how many hours you need and give you a link to the courses.
I have moved everything over to http://www.floridamassage.com. Let me know if you have any questions.
Hello, I am on my 2nd renewal and require 12 more hours. The 12 I have completed are hands on. For my first time renewing I did the prevention of medical errors course. According to your page I am required to have completed “Roles and Boundaries” and “Florida Rules and Laws”. Currently your package offers all 3. Is it possible I can sign up for just those 2 that I need? Would retaking the same course not count towards renewing? Also, I appreciate how organized and easy it was to read all this information. Thanks.
Yes! You can sign up for individual courses here – https://www.floridamassage.com/ceu/
Just add the courses you need to your cart and check out.
Just so you know, you can retake any course, just not on the same day. Those are reported/rejected as duplicates by CE Broker.
Let me know if you have any questions.
Kristopher H Chynoweth
How much does it cost to restart my GO license if I let it lapse past August 31st, 2019? Is there a late fee in addition to that? Do I have yo go to massage school again or take the state test?
There is a late fee (I believe it is $100). You do not have to go to school again or take the exam if it is just delinquent. If you miss two renewal cycles, your license becomes null and void. Then, if laws and rules change, you could possibly have to take a different exam or be deficient in hours.
I paid for my license to be renewed. I need 16 ce.s since i was working in Washington DC. And i waa in China before that. I need help asap
Is this your first renewal? Do you need hands on hours, or the 3 required courses?
my massage license is still active i got it august 2017 i need to renew every 2 years so i just want to know how can i get my 24 CEU before i run out of time ? I do not have any at this time.
If this is your first renewal, you can take ALL your hours online.
If you purchase this 16 course – https://www.advancedmassagetechniques.com/ashiatsu/ – I can give you 8 other hours you would need at no additional cost. That would get your to 24 hours for this cycle.
Last renewal period, I took a 12 hour CE course and received credit for it. Can I take the exact same CE course this renewal period and receive 12 hour credit for it, again?
Yes. That is not a problem. If you need 12 online hours for 2018, be sure to check out our packages at http://www.advancedmassagetechniques.com.
Hi ivy i am now back in ny. I am reniewing my ny and fla massage licence. Where in ny can i get the hands on fla crus required without having to ho to fla
You can use any NCBTMB approved provider and self-report those hours to CEBroker. You will just need to upload your certificate and put in some information about the course.
Hello. This is my first time renewal and l need 15 hours-CEs since l got license in June 2018. I see only need medical error s 2 credit plus 13 more. If l take hands- on that gives me more than 13, extra ctedits will carry over to next ??
No credits carry over. But the good news is that you can take all of your credits online for this renewal. Here is a package I suggest. It is a 16 hour renewal package.
I didn’t renew my license for the period of 2015- 2017 and I let it expire, now in 2019 I want to renew it, what should I do?
I want to take the Lymphatic drainage course which one you recommend? I’m in FL
Complete CE and pay all fees (and late fees). If you do not renew by 8/31, your license will be null and void and you will have to reapply again.
There are a lot of LD classes. Talk to some other LMTs that have taken LD classes for recommendations in your area.
For other CE, check out my website, http://www.advancedmassagetechniques.com
My license is void /null because I missed two renewal cycles. I have been told to reapply but when I registered in the website they asked me if I held a license before and I dont know if I should say yes or no. Please help. Also since I’m reapplying do i need to take the rules and Law ce course?.
Send me an email (email@example.com) with your name and old license number. I can look it up for you just to make sure.
You need to put that you did have an FL license previously. You will get a new license number since your old one is null and void.
Did you previously take the 10 hour FL laws and Rules, or did you take it when it was 4 hours? You may need to retake that course.
I’ll be moving to Florida in the next couple of months. I see a lot of Q&A for renewal. How about for us first timers? The application only states that the 10 hr FL Law and Rules CEU needs to be taken prior to obtaining your license, is there any additional mandatory CEU’s that need to be taken prior to?
Thank you in advance!
Here is the page you need with all of the information to get your Florida license and the 10 hour Florida law and rules course.
How much is it to renew my license after 11 years?
License renewal fees for the last renewal were $105.
I haven’t renewed my license for 10 years, how much is it to renew and how many hours is it ?
Your license is null and void. You will need to reapply for a massage license and complete all of the licensing requirements.
I see most of the comments were posted in 2013. Do all these regulations apply in 2017?
These still all apply. The 2017 update class has all of the recent rules and changes – https://www.advancedmassagetechniques.com/florida-massage-license/renewal/
I am thinking of moving to Florida again. I had a Florida license because I worked in Sarassota for six months in 2010. The license expired in 2011. Do I go through the renewal process? What are the requirements?
LMT in Ct.
If you missed the 2011 and 2013 renewals, you will need to reapply and start the application process over. If you only missed one renewal, you could show proof of all the CE’s needed to renew. If you missed two renewals, they typically tell you to start the process over again. I would call the Board office to verify this information and to see what information they still have for you (transcripts, exam scores – etc). Here is likely the process you will need to follow depending on what information they still have – http://www.advancedmassagetechniques.com/wp-content/uploads/florida-examination-checklist.pdf?90adb5.
I am out of the country for two months and need to renew my massage license. I s there another way I can get all the CEU’s required online?
Will this be your first renewal? If so, you can do all of the hours online. If not, contact the BOM and ask for advice on obtaining your hours from abroad.