December 31st, 2012, all Tennessee massage licenses will come due. Here is a quick breakdown of the renewal educational requirements.
- Tennessee requires massage therapists to complete 25 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal.
- 2 CE hours must be in Tennessee statutes and rules – This course must in a live-seminar format
- and 2 CE hours must be in practice management, ethics or substance abuse. It is not required for this course requirement to be completed in a home study format. Click here if you need to complete your ethics requirement.
- Courses taken from NCBTMB-approved providers are accepted.
- If this is your first renewal, here is a pro-rated chart for CE hours .
Changes for December 31st, 2014, Renewal
The Tennessee Board of Massage made changes to the statues and rules in September of 2012. The changes included setting a limit on the number of home study credits that can be used for each license renewal. However, this law change will not be enforced until the next renewal period beginning January 1, 2013 and ending December 31st, 2014.
So, for the 2012 renewal, ALL (excluding the 2 hours of Tennessee Law) hours may be in home study format. Beginning January 1st, 2013, Tennessee massage therapists will be limited to receiving credit for 8 continuing education hours in a homestudy/online format. The remaining 17 hours must be in a live/seminar format.
How much is the renewal fee? $195/2 years
You can click here to renew your license now, or to visit the Tennessee Board of Massage website.
Photo Credit: Joelk75