Are you a massage therapist moving to Florida?
I field questions every day from people who want to move to Florida. This includes people permanently moving and the occasional “snowbird” looking to winter there and would like to be licensed in more than one state.
Licensed By Endorsement
For those that are already licensed massage therapists in another state, you need to complete all of the Florida Board requirements, which includes a 10-hour course on Florida Laws and Rules for Massage Therapists instead of the two required hours for license renewal.
Prior to 2011, the 10-hour Law and Rules course could not be completed in a home study format, or be provided by Florida Approved Continuing Education Providers. It could only be completed at Florida Board Approved Schools. So, applicants had to travel to take the course in Florida, then wait to get their licensed approved. This is a major problem and inconvenience for most people. If they moved to Florida, they could not practice until their license was approved, which took weeks after completing the required course. The only way around this was to travel to Florida (which costs money and takes time), take the course, go home, and then wait for the license to be issued.
Luckily, this rule has been changed in 2011 at a board meeting. Now that is approved, applicants can take the course and get licensed before they move! Since 2011, I have had over 2000 10-hour Florida Laws and Rules students. So if you have a question about the process, there is a good chance I have heard it before.
Get the Required Courses
My Florida Endorsement Package includes 10-hour Florida Law and Rules, available for those who will be moving to Florida to become massage therapists. Previously, there were other required courses to obtain a Florida massage license (3 hours of HIV/AIDS and 2 hours of Prevention of Medical Errors). As of 2016 and 2017, those two courses are no longer required.
The 10-hour Laws and Rules course also includes a checklist and licensing guide to walk you through the process and avoid delays in processing.
A 10-hour Laws and Rules course can also be used by those who are reactivating a null and void Florida license or needing to take the course for Board disciplinary reasons.
Have more questions? Let me know below or email me here: firstname.lastname@example.org
Here was the official notice I received from CE Broker way back in 2011:
UPDATE!!! FEB 8th 2011
I received this email today from CE Broker.
To: Florida Board of Massage Therapy approved educational providers
The Florida Board of Massage Therapy has made a change allowing Board approved educational providers to offer the 10 hour Laws & Rules of the Board course required for initial licensure.