Get your Florida Massage License Renewal Package for just $30.00.
August 31st of every odd year, 30,000+ Florida massage professionals must renew their massage licenses. Yes, they (and myself included) all have the same deadline.
So what do we need to do to renew our licenses?
First, we need 24 hours of continuing education completed by August 31st, 2019. Or, if this is your first renewal, you need one (1) hour for every month you have been licensed.
All continuing education hours need to be taken from a Florida Board-Approved Continuing Education Provider (which I am).
Twelve (12) of the twenty-four (24) hours may be taken in an online or home study format.
Twelve (12) of the twenty-four (24) hours must be in a live course format and pertain to massage therapy techniques.
We also must complete three (3) required courses:
- Two (2) hours of Medical Errors
- Two (2) hours of Florida Law and Rules
- Two (2) hours of Professional Ethics (such as Roles and Boundaries)
The above three courses count towards the twenty-four (24) hour requirement, and can be completed in a online/homestudy format.
***As of July 1st, 2012, there is no longer a minimum of one (1) hour of HIV/AIDS education required each biennial (See HB 4163).
These three courses are packaged together in a Florida Renewal Package, but each course also may be purchased separately if you are just missing a couple courses.
If you have already completed your CE hours for this renewal and paid your renewal fees, congratulations! Sit back, relax, and go get a massage – You deserve it! See you August 31st, 2021!
Advanced Massage Techniques at Floridamassage.com is a Florida Approved Provider (#50-16951).
Ivy Hultquist, LMT
FL License # MA66325
Florida Approved Provider #50-16951
The Complete 2019 Florida Renewal Guide
If you would like further information on renewing your Florida massage license, this guide walks you step-by-step through the process of completing your renewal requirements and filing your renewal form. Just fill out the form below to get your free copy.
I am curious, back when Florida accepted the NCETMB as their national licensure, before the MBLEX, NCETMB allowed college courses to be accepted as hands on continuing education. When I was first licensed in Florida, I was told that if it was accepted by the NCETMB then it would be accepted by the state of Florida. I have since moved to Ohio but wanted to keep my Florida license active. I have completed a semester long (16 weeks) Gross Anatomy course as well as cadaver lab that would have been accepted by NCETMB but have no way to report it as it was not listed as a CE course. Being in Ohio, a state that doesn’t require CE’s to maintain a license, not many courses come through this way so I was counting on the Gross Anatomy and Cadaver lab to be used as my CE time. Is this at all true anymore, or am I pretty much up a creek? I know David Kent offers a cadaver dissection seminar and before that one week was worth 40 CEU’s. Is there any way I could still use this?
I had to think about this for a little while.
Florida does not just accept any course the NCBTMB accepts. Florida accepts courses from NCBTMB providers. The NCBTMB will accept hours for renewal that are not from NCBTMB provider, as of now, as long as they meet certain criteria.
So if the anatomy course was from a school that is a NCBTMB approved provider, then you could get their number and enter the course into CEBroker for it to count for your FL license renewal.
David Kents hours would count, I assume he is approved by the FL board and is an NCBTMB provider. Remember, you can take any hands on courses from NCBTMB providers and use them towards your renewal. Call a massage school and ask around, you should be able to find one.
Your FL LMT License Renewal Package is advertised for the ‘2013’ renewal which has already passed. If I decide to go ahead and purchase the package now, will it be acceptable for the 2015 renewal? I like to get my CEUs done early so it’s off my back. To date, I’ve already completed 12 live hours and 6 home study hours. All that is left for me is the 6 required courses but, I want to be sure that your package is current. I don’t want to waste time and money on courses that are no longer valid.
Hi Molsen ~
Rarely is someone this prepared for the renewal! Congrats. I can testify that everyone else waits until the last 90 days.
You may use this for the 2015 renewal without a problem. There have been no changes yet to FL law. I will put the completed into CE Broker and they will count towards your 2015 renewal. Since you are taking the course early, I would sign up for our newsletter after purchase so you can get email updates so that you can be aware when there are changes.
Thanks for your help.
I am enjoying the info that is on your site.
I will keep in touch.
Hi Noreen and Ivy,
You have both been helpful and I appreciate your responces, i am not newly licensed. (2003)
It just seems that the courses offered, are not perfectly clear in the courses needed.
So I understand the requirements are 24 total hours 12 of them classroom. I am late with my renewal this year, for other personal and other job needs. I have completed my 12 hour on line course. I hold my massage education and my healing gift (that we share) important!
I can’t seem to find classroom CEU’s in the Ft Myers area! If you can Help! (updated classsroom)
Also it would be helpful if the courses available and the class schedules had a date! I’ve been reading about class schedules for 2010. ie another wasted research.
Thanks for your help and responce.
I would call any Massage schools in your are for leads or possible approved classes
Also email elitecme.com and LMT Success Group
The LMT Success Group are pretty good guys located in Deerfield Beach. I would give them a
Like Noreen said, I would contact a school in your area. That is the advice I gave to everyone who called near the renewal. There will not be as many holding classes, but all of the classes should not be as full as they were in August.
I’m a little confused, some CEU online classes say that there 12 hour course is all thats needed.
But other requirements say 12 hour classroom is also needed. I completed the online course,
( Quick Massagece.com ) $39.95 12 hour mandatory including HIV. Was a good price and the course was good. ( except for a few miss spelled words, and 1 question had a,b,c, choice and no d. ) In trying to now rew on line it states mandatory 12 hour hands on. So do you know of any affordable CEU classes or a website i shlould try? Am i going to be fined for being late in with my Renewal? Thanks Eileen
Hi Eileen It depends when you got your license on what is required of you. First renewals are different then second renewal requirements.
As of 8/31 your license is considered delinquent. The late fee is not posted on the website yet. I believe it was $100. Which means it will cost $205 for you to renew after your CE hours are completed.
If you need help determining the requirements for your Florida massage CEUS, visit my other site http://www.advancedmassagetechniques.com. Look under the Florida massage license tab. I have checklists that will help you determine what you need based on when you got your license.
Hi Eileen. I think you were confused because that online company used confusing language. I noticed it in the google search
In Florida, you need to attend a 12 hour live class plus the 12 hour online course by 8/31 or your license is delinquent and a hefty late fee will be charged
You still need to do the 12 hour class and they may be hard to find right now. Best Wishes
You are correct about the 12 hours of live courses needed – except – if she is a first time renewal. All first time renewals may take all of their hours online.
It is sad to about the confusion companies used to make a lot of FL MT’s that they could do all of their hours online – even after the first renewal. I saw way more than one advertise in that manner during the last month of the renewal.
Thanks for the correction Ivy. I forgot about first timers. : )
Indeed there is a lot of confusion out there and many, now have problems to fix
I was one of the procrastinators and just made the deadline.I put it off because I had my Nursing license to renew too.
That’s me..living life on the edge. : )
Hi I haven’t took any online classes or on hands class I wonder how much would the late fee be and what will I have to do
The late fee is not posted on the website yet. I believe it was $100. Which means it will cost $205 for you to renew now.
If you need online courses I have a few, including the mandatory courses, available on my site http://www.advancedmassagetechniques.com.
I have miscalculated my ‘live’ credits and need to complete 8 more. I have more than enough online/home study (24). Is there a website that list up coming classes before the renewal on the 31st? Im in Florida – Tampa Bay area.
Thanks so much
I have had a lot of people with your same situation call this week. I would call schools in your area and ask if they are hosting classes or can direct you where to look. Also the Florida Massage Therapist Group Open Forum on Facebook is a great resource to ask right now.
Hi, Ivy! I have a question I was womdering if you could help with. I am renewing for the second time…. I have 32 Live hours from the QiGong revolution in orlando, and then I was looking to get the other required courses in online. Is this all I need or do I need to find something else to take? The statement that confuses me is regarding the “must include the massage therapy technique,” as the course I took does have Reflexology and energy breathing techniques. How do I find out if I am covered without spending 30 extra bucks on cebroker?
Tricky question! I am not very familiar with QiGong and how much muscle manipulation it has. Was the course by a FL CE Provider? If so, they should be able to help you. The FL board does accept NCBTMB providers as CE providers, and they have not excluded much for energy techniques (yet). So, I am leaning towards thinking it would be accepted. I would call/email the board to verify this one just to make sure it is okay. I wish I was better help.
Hi, I’ve been out of the country and state of FL for several months now and am looking for a way to complete the 12 hours of hands on before the August deadline. Is it possible some how? If I don’t complete that portion what issues are there renewing my license? I can’t locate anything on the state website that says if you don’t complete the 24 hours what happens. Do you know of any live WebEx type of course offered?
With you being out of country, I would contact the BOM and ask for suggestions. Have you taken any hands on hours wherever you are located? You could ask if those count. You could also ask about webinars. From what I remember, I think if the webinar is live and has an exam at the end (or some way to prove you are there) you may be able to count that. Maybe look for NCBTMB providers with webinars. Sorry I do not have a better answer for this!
Do you know how much it is to renew a FL license? I am almost done with my CEU’s for the first time and I am wondering how much it is going the cost for me to renew.
Thank you so much!
Sure! For 2013, the renewal fee is $105.
This year it is $105 for license renewal. Sorry about my delay I do know know how this slipped through my messages!
So far I like your prices for CEUS, especially the $58.00 for 12
I have one question. Are you sure Fl Therapists can’t take all courses online? I ask because I’ve seen others advertising that they are approved providers and have all online courses.
This time around I need to find the least expensive options
I am sure others are advertising this, but chances are they are not completely aware of all of Florida’s rules. Those selling courses to FL LMT’s are oddly not required to take a course in Florida Law.
Only first time renewals CAN take ALL their courses online.
After that, only 12 of the 24 hours are allowed to be online. The rest need to be hand’s-on (in a classroom).
Here is a link from the Board Homepage-
For Renewal of License Following Your First Renewal
At least twelve (12) of the hours must be relevant to and focus on massage therapy techniques, which may include the history of massage, human anatomy & physiology, kinesiology and/or pathology.
These hours must be completed via live classroom instruction (including hands-on instruction or demonstration).
Now, you can take over 12 hours online, it is just those extra hours will not count.
Please let me know if you have other questions about the renewal or the 12 hour package.
i will renew my florida massage license,take the online package,give me a guide i am ready to prepare. thank you. linda
Let me know if you have any problems or questions. I would be happy to help!